1974 Washington quarter with both sides head? Fake or Real?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Write2bfree, Feb 7, 2016.

1. Write2bfree

Write2bfree Active Member

Again I am attempting to see if this one is real or fake. Hopefully, you guys won't bash on me too hard this time. Thank you.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. eric6794

eric6794 Well-Known Member

Chances are its fake unless you are one of the luckiest people on earth. Get a 30x loop check the edges for cut marks,check weight and if you still think there is a chance send it in because if its real you just became one lucky son of a gun :)

Write2bfree likes this.
  4. Write2bfree

Thank you. Also, would you happen to know what weight it should be around?

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Fake. Second picture shows how the Reverse was machined into a shell then the Obverse of another Quarter was machined to fit into the shell. I collect these type of coins known as Magicians Coins or just known as novelty coins.

Rick Stachowski likes this.
  6. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

Smack it against a table and listen for the sound, and if need be compare to any plain clad. This should only help to confirm what Paddy has already said.

7. eric6794

Roughly 5.67 grams but paddy is right I see the cut now

8. Write2bfree

Sounds like all the other quarters I banged on the table.

Can you tell me where is the cut on the quarter so I can try to take a picture. Thank you.

9. eric6794

2nd photo west of igwt is where I see machine marks. I'm on my cellphone so it's a small picture but I can see it

10. Write2bfree

I looked at it in every angle in that area and used a zoom with the camera with a magnifying glass under it and all I see are scratches from wear and tare. I also did the coin test with another 1974, same sound. I guess I should weigh it.

11. Write2bfree