1974 Lincoln cent on which planchet? Would it be valuable?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by SendMoney, Apr 28, 2020.

1. SendMoney

SendMoney New Member

Hi everyone! I'm still new to all this and I can not find this anywhere on the internet. I found this awkward cent while roll hunting. It's the stamping of a 1974 Lincoln cent, and it's actually in really good condition for being 45 years old ...but the only planchet that I can find that comes closest to the outer edge design is the Canadian cent(which isn't it because it's way off in weight.) 20200428_011235.jpg 20200428_005541.jpg 20200428_005729.jpg Can someone please tell me which planchet it is and would this cent be very valuable? Thanks so much.
    -Tammy

Last edited: Apr 28, 2020
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Handyman

Handyman Well-Known Member

I'm curious why you feel that's not a normal 74 Lincoln cent with damage.

Evan Saltis likes this.
  4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

@SendMoney

First, welcome to the neighborhood, Tammy!

This is just a mutilated cent. What you really need to do before you start looking for errors is to learn how coins and the dies that make them are made. Otherwise, you're just wasting your time. ~ Chris

l.cutler and Handyman like this.
  5. l.cutler

l.cutler Member

Excellent advice from cpm9ball. Just a mangled, normal cent.

Evan Saltis likes this.
  6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I don't think so..
    That is DEFDAM - Definitely Damaged :yack:
    Dents and hits caused by circulation wear.

Sorry.. Welcome to CoinTalk

SendMoney likes this.
  7. SendMoney

SendMoney New Member

I'm curious to see a coin that has a smooth and consistent pattern like this around the entire thing that is damage...

8. SendMoney

SendMoney New Member

Show me a coin with "damage" with a smoothly consistent pattern like this please.

9. SendMoney

SendMoney New Member