1972D Half Dollar Thin Stock?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by furryfrog02, Apr 23, 2018.

1. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

As I was searching my halves today I came across this one. Had an odd ring to it when I was going through the roll. Obviously not silver and no other noticeable issues so I popped it on the scale and it came up at 10.44g. Is that thin enough to be considered a keeper? I don't have any experience with these. Thanks for the help and thanks for looking!
    23APR Half 10.44g.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

From my collection -
    3840148-002.JPG

furryfrog02 likes this.
  4. furryfrog02

Do you think it's off enough to keep? I've only seen ones that are in the ~9 gram range. 10.44 is just a wee bit less than a gram off of what it should be.

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Looks like a bit of the Rim is missing above the R in LIBERTY on your coin.. that would cause the issue

6. furryfrog02

I don't think that is damage though. You really think that slight bit would take of 0.9 grams? Meh, I dunno. Time for bed me thinks.

7. vintagemintage

vintagemintage Well-Known Member

And 40% silver is heavier than clad too

8. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

paddyman98 likes this.
  9. furryfrog02

I'll take a second look at it after work today. This one actually has me curious :)

10. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

What does the edge look like at that flat spot? I've got a defective-planchet Franklin that has a weak spot in the strike because there's a bit of a void at the edge.

11. furryfrog02

I will check it out when I get home this afternoon. I should've taken more/better pictures. I didn't follow my own advice this time :p

12. furryfrog02