1972 Lincoln penny no mint mark

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Sumzmommy, May 31, 2016.

1. Sumzmommy

Sumzmommy I'm always looking for the next burried treasure

I was looking up key dates for Lincoln pennys and i happened to have the 1972 no mint error coin!
    After comparing my coin I'm pretty confident that I have the right one.
    I'm asking for another option please!

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Cents minted at the Philadelphia Mint in 1972 did not have the P mint mark

SunnySeaJay likes this.
  4. Jdiablo30

Jdiablo30 Well-Known Member

You have a normal coin struck in Philly.

SunnySeaJay likes this.
  5. paddyman98

SunnySeaJay and rzage like this.
  6. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

There is a doubled die 1972 cent but your's is not it. Sorry.

SunnySeaJay likes this.
  7. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

There are seven or eight different DDO from Philadelphia in 1972 (Not to mention Master die doubling that affects thirty to fifty percent of the coins for that year). One of them is major and jumps right out at you. You don't have that one. The others are much more minor and require better images and close ups to identify. They tend to be much less valuable. (Some of them just a few dollars)

SunnySeaJay likes this.
  8. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

I think there are a few more than that. ;)

9. Richman321

Richman321 New Member

I have a 1972 d mint mark, but the d is at Lincolns chest. I've never seen that on a coin. Any advice?

10. paddyman98

Advice.. Create your very own unique thread with pictures. No way a mint mark could end up on the chest as you state. Could be PMD - post mint damage.

SunnySeaJay likes this.
  11. jfreakofkorn

jfreakofkorn Well-Known Member

its a date to look for as in a DD. but from the looks of it, this one isnt one of them =/

12. Angela May

Angela May New Member