1972 half dollar planchet error?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Thelionwarrior, Jul 20, 2012.

1. Thelionwarrior

Thelionwarrior Active Member

Sorry I'm new at collecting... what do you guys think?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. phankins11

phankins11 Well-Known Member

Best Answer
    A) Yup, any grandpa, grandma, mom or dad, son or daughter (if you have kids) will quite readily agree that you know exactly what you're talking about....SMH B) there is no one here who *JUST* posts on message boards. Part of the reason you (and others like you) get so much flack here, is because the serious numismatists that are members here, and other forums, want to make sure that new collectors don't come here and read a ridiculous conversation like this and walk away thinking that every coin they find with some anomaly is a rare and valuable find.

Challenge accepted!

My Hypothesis: Your coin was squeezed in a vice, rotated after each squeezed, 5 times to give it 10 sides. Next, because squeezing the coin like that in a vice causes the coin to warp in an vertical direction relational to the orientation of the coin in the vice, it was laid on a flat hard surface and likely hammered with a rubber mallet (or something softer than the coin metal) to flatten the coin back out.

For all those who don't like the idea of an innocent coin being harmed, turn your head now.

So in about 45 seconds today, I was able to do this using the process I described above with a vice and rubber mallet. Imagine what I could do with more time. I'm 100% sure that after a try or two more (at the cost of $1) I cold duplicate your "error" exactly, but I've already spent 50 cents too much.

View attachment 404844

View attachment 404845

To address the idea of your half being minted on the foreign planchet from Australia...