1971 s proof not proof

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Willysilver, Jul 19, 2018.

1. Willysilver

Willysilver HEADS UP Supporter

Well I'm on the west coast of Florida I never get S Lincoln cents and I got this in a coin roll from the bank but determining whether it's proof or not proof I'm having a hard time Ms condition I think

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Like your title states.. Not Proof ;)

4. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

5. Willysilver

Thanks paddy appreciate it I just get excited when I get S is over here they're hard to get especially in that shape condition

6. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Clearly not a proof. You need to brush up on the differences between proofs and business strikes.

7. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

Here's proof, you can compare yours to it.
    1317940598.jpg

8. Willysilver

Omg mines def not proof

Michael K likes this.
  9. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

To be fair the coin in the posted photo is not representative of the average 71-S proof most folks will encounter.

10. Willysilver

I dont understand

11. Willysilver

Hey check out the bicentennial quarter I got today and pocket change it amazing Philadelphia mint I posted it under the what's my coin worth give me your opinion please I respect it thanks

12. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

Yes that's true. Most 1971-S proof cents will not be as nice as the photo,
    but I wanted to show the contrast between the business strike and a proof.

13. BooksB4Coins

The average 71-S proof cent will look little like the example photo, particularly in regards to contrast. I mentioned this because if you're unable to identify your coin as a business strike as-is, expecting a proof to resemble said photo very could only add to your confusion.

14. BooksB4Coins