1971 DDR half dollar

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Kevin Humphries, Jun 18, 2018.

1. Kevin Humphries

Kevin Humphries New Member

Just found my first double die half. Does anyone have any idea how common theses are and if it is worth anything? Thanks for any help!!!

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

If talking about the lower reverse, that's not the type of doubling you were hoping for and means it's not a doubled die.

4. Kevin Humphries

Thank you for the info, although i'm still very new at this and nit quite sure what you mean by the type of doubling.

5. BooksB4Coins

Check the below site out but be sure to go through the other options on the upper left side of each page. Particularly the "worthless doubling" section will explain the different types. In your case pay close attention to the "strike doubling" (also called mechanical or machine)...

http://doubleddie.com/58222.html

Spark1951 likes this.
  6. Kevin Humphries

Thanks so much, i really appreciate it!!!

Stevearino likes this.
  7. BooksB4Coins

Absolutely.

Not that you're unable to do so for yourself, but here are a couple of the mentioned links that should be initially most helpful. I was in somewhat of a rush before and is why my previous response was lacking.

-This is the said "worthless doubling" link. At the bottom of the page there will be three other links that go into greater detail regarding the different types...

http://doubleddie.com/144801.html

-This explains how dies are made and can be particularly useful information when trying to learn about and how to identify varieties...

http://doubleddie.com/58201.html

-When one locates a coin they believe to be a variety, its best to try to attribute it (basically compare to known examples). While there are other sites (Variety Vista/CONECA, CopperCoins, etc), I find Wexler's particularly helpful and would recommend it as a first stop...