1969 d penny NO fg and

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Jarksmyworld, Apr 23, 2024.

1. Jarksmyworld

Jarksmyworld Member

Hi again everyone well I definitely think I found a big keeper :)
    A 1969 d penny brown - No FG - floating roof
    I definitely need your input on this
    Hopefully good news
    Thanks in advance 20240423_183035.png 20240423_190147.jpg 20240423_183040.jpg 20240423_184333.jpg 20240423_184249.jpg

alurid likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Common. Nothing major.

The result of an overpolished die. It is not a variety, it is not a mint error. It is just a late die stage of that particular die, but could also happen on other dies if they are overpolished.

Spark1951, Tall Paul and Kevin Mader like this.
  4. Jarksmyworld

Jarksmyworld Member

5. Kevin Mader

Kevin Mader Fellow Coin Enthusiast Supporter

A very small premium at best. As Ed notes, quite common and not restricted to any date/mm.

Jarksmyworld likes this.
  6. Mcpix

Mcpix Member

I found one in my blue Whitman folder from when I was a teenager a few years back. Sent it to PCGS. MS64 RB. They use it as the sample photo. Worth $200.

Jarksmyworld likes this.
  7. Jarksmyworld

Jarksmyworld Member

@Mcpix that's awesome and like hearing that
    Thank you

8. Spark1951

Spark1951 Accomplishment, not Activity

Both features are weak but present on the coin.

…imo…Spark

ZoidMeister likes this.
  9. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Can we see it? What is the PCGS number?

Did PCGS give it that value? Or is that what you think it is worth?

If they did then it is probably for the grade not the issue.
    I don't think any TPF recognizes the Floating Roof on their labels.

10. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

paddyman98 likes this.
  11. Kevin Mader