1969 D artists initials missing error

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Walter Marx, Aug 14, 2018.

?

I've seen this coin going for prices from $50 up to $10,000. Mine isn't very bright but does have

Poll closed Sep 13, 2018.
  1. A hard to come by coin

100.0%
  2. Any examples in uncirculated condition?

100.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Walter Marx

Walter Marx Active Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dave363

Dave363 Well-Known Member

Welcome to Cointalk
    Your coin is a normal circulated coin the designers initials on your coin are there they're faded from wear and tear or possibly grease filled.IMO
    Dave

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

@Walter Marx
    You have a normal Overpolished Die example. That makes the initials not appear on a coin. Another evidence is the roof.. Look at it and you can see it looks like it is floating.
    It is all due to overpolishing.
    Nothing really major. Worth just 1 Cent.

Google - Floating Roof Variety Lincoln Cent

5. SilverDollar2017

SilverDollar2017 Morgan dollars

Caused by overpolishing the die. You coin also has the "Floating roof" variety as paddyman98 noted. Worth face value.

HollyRorieNetwork likes this.
  6. tmeyer

tmeyer Au hunter

I find these once in a while going thru boxes of pennies. Even though they are worth only 1 cent I still keep them.

7. PlanoSteve

PlanoSteve Well-Known Member

Nice coin for a "warrior" collection (those are coins which have been through their original intended purpose and are still recognizable, albeit, of little intrinsic value). :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:

If you don't already have one, buy a Whitman or similar book & fill it with "warriors". It's fun, & these coins should be recognized & appreciated. :happy::happy::happy:

Walter Marx likes this.
  8. Walter Marx

Thank you, I've actually found 3 of thesd, I'll hang on to them for the hell of it.

9. Walter Marx