1968 S roll hunting find

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by robertk310, Jan 22, 2017.

1. robertk310

robertk310 Active Member

Found another interesting specimen roll hunting: 1968 S cent. Another roll find in pristine condition except for what looks like a dent on the reverse. There are no signs of damage on either side so I'm wondering did this happen during the minting process? Or would this be considered PMD? Also what grade would you give this coin? It shines like a new copper coin. Thanks in advance for everyone's input!!!

Attached Files:

ACoinJob likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I would not call it pristine. On the pictures you provided, when enlarged I see many scratches on both sides of the Cent. His check also has some bad scratch if you look closely.
    There is a slight Misaligned Die Strike on the Obverse as you can see a small False Double Rim to the left of LIBERTY
    I'm not a grader so I can't say :bag:

4. robertk310

robertk310 Active Member

Would you venture a guess as to how it got warped/dented on the reverse? Edit: do you think that's from the minting process or is that PMD?

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I see it but can't give a definite answer. Could be something to do with the Obverse design. Some sort of ghosting effect but not certain.

6. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

This dent you are asking about could be mint warping, due to internal stress in the metal, I dont think it will add value, as most collector do want a pristine speciment.
    There are those that like the odd and uncommon stuff. I would keep it as an example, and not be to conserned with grade, as an MS-63 RD only brings about
    15¢.

7. dwhiz

dwhiz Collector Supporter

Not a bad roll fine.

eddiespin likes this.
  8. robertk310

robertk310 Active Member