1968 penny writing too close to the rim?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by unnut, Feb 14, 2016.

1. unnut

unnut Member

Folks. Attached are the pictures of the 1968 penny which I picked up from circulation recently. The writing above Lincoln's head seems to almost merge into the rim. Would this be considered an error coin? The coin has seem some circulation and is somewhat beat up as you can see in the pictures.

IMG_1403.jpg IMG_1413.jpg Thanks!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

4. Amos 811

Amos 811 DisMember

nice railroad rim though.

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

How do you figure that?

Chris

6. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

Maybe referring to the slight misalignment to the west?

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

More of a bit of False Double Rim not Railroad Rim

tommyc03 and Amos 811 like this.
  8. Amos 811

Amos 811 DisMember

looked like one off the bat.

9. pennsteve

pennsteve Well-Known Member

I know nothing about this, but this is what I got from a website:

"Also it can look like railroad tracks if the coin has edge reeding.

People call dimes, quarters, half dollars and large dollars "Railroad" rims when they're partial collar strike and some of the edge reeding is struck out of place."

Pennies don't have reeded edges.

10. Amos 811

Amos 811 DisMember

Last edited: Feb 14, 2016
  11. cpm9ball

That's the unfortunate part about this hobby. Someone sees something they've never seen before, and without hesitation gives it the name of something else they've never seen but heard that it exists.

Four people in the world? I guess that must definitely be a majority!

Chris

tomfiggy, tommyc03 and paddyman98 like this.
  12. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter