1968 kennedy half dollar die crack?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Moesizzle, Jun 23, 2018.

1. Moesizzle

Moesizzle Member

Hey guys what are your thoughts on the lines going through this coin. Doesnt appear to be scratches but I am far from a coin expert.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SlipperySocks

SlipperySocks Well-Known Member

It seems to be damage at first glance because it looks like they extend onto the rim at both ends. Are the lines raised off the coin or do they seem dug into the coin? Can you get some better pics?

4. Moesizzle

Moesizzle Member

The lines seemed to be raised rather than dug in. Screenshot_20180623-224407_Gallery.jpg Screenshot_20180623-213940_Gallery.jpg

5. SlipperySocks

Well my first thought was a razor knife but they do seem raised so I'd say you may have a struck through coin. Possibly a wire brush bristle. Hard to say without actually holding the coin. See If anyone else chimes in.
    A keeper in my book, but nothing of any notable value beyond the cool factor.

6. Moesizzle

Moesizzle Member

Great thanks for the honest opinion. Hopefully someone else can give their opinion. Just got a massive coin collection I have no idea what I'm going to do with and I'm hunting it for fun :)

7. NLL

NLL Well-Known Member

That is a cool find and certainly would have a place in my collection.

8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It is to straight to be a Die Crack.. I will say PMD - Post Mint Damage

There are also some obvious scratches on the neck.

Moesizzle likes this.
  9. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Supporter! Supporter

Very strange that the line(s) bisect the coin perfectly.

10. Moesizzle

Moesizzle Member

I know right? It's very odd and doesnt appear to be a scratch.

11. Moesizzle

Moesizzle Member

12. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Supporter! Supporter

Makes me think it was done purposely, but for what reason? PMD

13. Moesizzle