1968 D Roosevelt Dime

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by love old coins, May 27, 2021.

1. love old coins

love old coins Well-Known Member

This dime has a weird looking 8 in the date...I actually found two with nearly the same issue but the photos of the other one didn't come out as well. I was hoping for some insight from y'all because I have no idea what this is, if it's anything worth talking about. The picture of the rim is blurry, I know, but there didn't appear to be any disruptions in the continuity of the rim. Please don't be mean with your comments...remember, I'm new at all of this and I look up to you guys for advice and knowledge.

Attached Files:

PamR and SensibleSal66 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

First of all . Sorry that you've had past bad experiences with responses .
    With that said . Realistically , It's hard to make out anything from your Photo's. Can use provide better Pics > I recommend editing programs . One is called LunaPic ( free and No download ) and the other is PhotoScape ( DL and Free ) .
    Good Luck

love old coins and PamR like this.
  4. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

Sorry, but they are PMD. That can't occur during the minting or die making process

5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

I gotta go with damaged in this one.

love old coins, PamR and Stevearino like this.
  6. GH#75

GH#75 Trying to get 8 hours of sleep in 4. . .

Its wear and a weak strike. very common on 1968 dimes, I've seen plenty myself. Keep looking.

love old coins likes this.
  7. RogerC

RogerC Well-Known Member

Any chance that could be a strike through? Doesn't look like a normal hit job to me.

8. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder