1966 quarter error? need help

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by bearsemail, Mar 13, 2011.

1. bearsemail

bearsemail New Member

I am new to coin collecting and could use advice on this one. It definitely struck me as odd. My untrained eyes see doubling in the date, but I also think I see a "7" after the last 6 in the date. Am I nuts? What do I have here? Thanks in advance for your help.

1966-3.jpg

1966-2.jpg

Attached Files:

Rosebud62208 and edwalling like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Crobattt

Crobattt PEACE BRO xD

being honest here, but in my opinion it looked like someone scratched off the date, and replaced it with the date that is there. It's very off centered. and looks like the digits arent correctly made. just my opinion

edwalling likes this.
  4. lincolncent

lincolncent Future Storm Chaser Guy

+1
    I thought it looked odd. The whole obverse looks odd. Could you post a pic of the reverse?
    Fake?

5. Crobattt

Crobattt PEACE BRO xD

why would someone fake a 66 is my question >_>

6. bearsemail

bearsemail New Member

Here is the reverse, sorry about my poor quality scanner.

rev1966.jpg

I dont see a reason anyone would fake a 1966

edwalling likes this.
  7. TazMage

TazMage Member

Nice quarter, maybe a new find! :)

edwalling likes this.
  8. tlasch

tlasch Penny Hoarder & Food Stamp Aficionado

Guys are you forgetting that the dates on washington quarters were always to the left? Also that 7 it just appears to be an odd scratch? I cannot tell. Nobody would fake a 66

rascal, mikenoodle and edwalling like this.
  9. TazMage

TazMage Member

I think he should send it to an error expert 'cause there's a lot going on with that quarter, but that's just my opinion... :)

edwalling likes this.
  10. smokeriderdon

smokeriderdon New Member

It sure as hell looks like a double die at the least. I agree, find an error guru and get an opinion.

edwalling likes this.
  11. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater