1965 silver penny needs opinions

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Erica White, Mar 31, 2020.

?

Silver or tin penny?

1. Silver

1 vote(s)
    9.1%
  2. Tin

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Other

10 vote(s)
    90.9%
  1. Erica White

Erica White New Member

• 1965 silver penny? Or tin? Need your opinions please

Attached Files:

Spark1951 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Plated.. There are many threads here on CoinTalk with the same question.

It is not a mint error of any kind.

Welcome to CoinTalk

4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

5. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

probably a high school experiment at one time.

Various non-US mints also would (and still do) plate coins and resell them for probably over the last 50+ years. They'll plate anything silver, gold, platinum, ruthenium, they'll also paint them, etc. All to make money above their face value. Oh, and when the novelty wears off you can still spend them for face value.

Kevin Mader likes this.
  6. Mr.Q

Mr.Q Well-Known Member

Great conversation piece but it does appear to be plated, in my opinion. If you have it checked by a professional I would like to know the result. Good luck!

7. Fred Weinberg

Fred Weinberg Well-Known Member

8. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Welcome to CT. It's good that you included other on the survey as your Cent is plated.

9. Snowman

Snowman Senior Member

Most likely coated with Mercury. Every so often you see pennies on here with the same condition -silver looking. Heard that you get some mercury in your hands and rub the mercury into the penny and it will turn silver looking. You don't see any pennies like this in the zinc years after mercury was declared public enemy #1. Usually the pennies that show up here like this are from the 60's and 70's era.