1965 QuarterQuarter Possible Error

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Layo6, Aug 10, 2016.

1. Layo6

Layo6 Member

I found this coin in a roll of quaters and since I am still a newbie to coin collecting, I am not real sure what to make of this coin. Maybe a grease due fill error with maybe a clam shell error? I Hope its just something collectible. 20160808_221109.jpg 20160808_221147.jpg 20160808_221109.jpg 20160808_221147.jpg 20160808_221131.jpg 20160805_180332.jpg 20160805_180208.jpg Anyone care to educate a newbie? The "United States Of" is missing from the back. 20160808_221109.jpg 20160808_221147.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. gronnh20

gronnh20 Well-Known Member

Post mint damage. The motto on the reverse is still visible along the rim. Its not a keeper. Looks like the reeding and rim are worn on the opposite side of the damaged motto. Must of got caught between two spinning mechanisms.

4. NorthKorea

NorthKorea Dealer Member is a made up title...

Looks like it fell out of someone's pocket in the washing machine. Just a circulated quarter. Feel free to spend it or put it in the bank.

5. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

Looks slightly misaligned but that's fairly common. Just looks like a 50 year old coin that has seen better days. But keep the hunt going!

Layo6 and paddyman98 like this.
  6. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

I don't agree. Your coin looks like it was struck through "foreign debris" such as grease. Damage does NOT leave the nice surface where the letters are missing.
    I CANNOT BELIEVE other members have not posted dissenting replies here!

@heavycam.monstervam
    @physics-fan3.14
    @SuperDave
    @green18
    @rim's cents
    @Condor101

@EVERYONE ELSE!

Layo6 and tomfiggy like this.
  7. heavycam.monstervam

heavycam.monstervam Outlaw Trucker & Coin Hillbilly

Since I'm the 1st one you summoned,
    I'll go 1st.....
    100% agree w Insider , struck thru grease/debris/foreign matter....