1965 copper quarter

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Stephanie Crawford, Sep 5, 2016.

1. Stephanie Crawford

Stephanie Crawford New Member

Just wondering what it's worth? It's thinner and weighs less than a regular quarter.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. coloradobryan

coloradobryan Well-Known Member

It looks to be a dug quarter. After time in the ground, they often have that look.

John77 likes this.
  4. John77

John77 Well-Known Member

I agree. Just worth a quarter.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

(so weird that this subject keeps popping up)

Yes to a dug quarter. Meaning a quarter that was buried underneath dirt, soil, or sand. After a long period of time there can occur Environmental Damage after exposure to the elements. Rain, heat will affect the colors of Quarters, Nickels and Dimes giving it the Copper like look. I have found hundreds of coins such as yours metal detecting.

John77 likes this.
  6. Stephanie Crawford

It's not dirty. Was not found in the ground. Was found in an old house that was being torn down. It is thinner than a regular quarter and it weighs .2 grams lighter.

7. Stephanie Crawford

It's not dirty. Was not found in the ground. Was found in an old house that was being torn down. It is thinner than a regular quarter and it weighs .2 grams lighter.

8. Stephanie Crawford

9. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

All coins have a +/- variance in grams. I didn't say its dirty, I said it was Environmentally Damaged. You could clean that Quarter all you want. It will remain the way it looks. Maybe the owner of the house found it that way and hid it in a wall or it fell between the openings on the floorboards.. maybe the Quarter became Environmentally Damaged sitting near copper pipes or radiators that were leaking. All these things are possible.
    It's not an error coin AND it's only worth 25C !