1964 lincoln

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Sarah2624, Feb 13, 2018.

1. Sarah2624

Sarah2624 Member

How come so many of the 64's have lettering so close to the rim? I have about 20 of them that are like this. Also I'm still trying to train my eyes to see true doubled dies. Any better? IMG_20180212_232128.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Worn Dies.. Circulation wear.

Nothing to do with a Doubled Die

4. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Too many of them made and the Mint kept using the worn dies to save money.

6. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

Seen many that look a whole lot worse than this one. Ones where the lettering actually seems to meld with the rim. Yep, worn dies.

7. Sarah2624

Sarah2624 Member

Is there doubling on the date? I don't have the best magnifying tool so still struggling to differentiate the two. I have done my research though. I suppose if I ever actually find one I will know.

8. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

If you'd like to train your eyes, consider searching late memorial cents. There's who-knows how many very minor "doubled dies" that show as nothing more than a little blip usually to the left or right of Lincoln's statue. Examples can be found on Wexler's (I'll try to find an example).

I think @tommyc03 may have a few, so perhaps he can add insight if you're interested.

As examples, scroll down to numbers 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, and 13. You'll also see examples of other often painfully common supposed "doubling" as well. Even if digging through only a handful of solid rolls, I'd be rather surprised if you didn't find any.

http://doubleddie.com/715534.html

9. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member