1964 Kennedy Error ????

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Marine1, Jan 27, 2017.

1. Marine1

Marine1 Active Member

Going thru my old rolls and found this, Die error or ??
    M1 DSCN0759 w dimple.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

Raised or incused?

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

How about a picture of the Reverse side also?
    And a picture of the full Obverse. Looks to be in bad shape.
    Most likely a bubble caused by extreme heat.

5. Marine1

Marine1 Active Member

It was raised and Ill shoot another jpg. Sat. but no other signs of heat at all, weight good, size and width good, no warping.

6. TommyP

TommyP BS detector

Didn't realize so many varieties of the 64 Kennedy. I'll have to research and review my stuff once again. Looks like an error.

7. paddyman98

These raised bumps are usually caused by extreme heat. Sometimes there are no signs of fire or heat. There is no know error that would be caused at the Mint like this.
    Looks like one but in my opinion it is not one.

Insider likes this.
  8. paddyman98

@Marine1 @TommyP
    But.. now that I thought of it carefully, a 1964 Kennedy is 90% Silver. It does not have a clad layer. So maybe it is not my original take on a bubble caused by heat.
    So I have changed my opinion on it.. sorry guys

I do want to see the pictures I requested

Amos 811 likes this.
  9. Silverhouse

Silverhouse Well-Known Member

I have barber quarter with something like this on the obverse. On mine it looks incused, but I can't see a dip in the surface from being struck by a foreign object. It looks smooth. I haven't been able to get very good pictures yet.

10. Marine1

Marine1 Active Member

Obverse and reverse jpgs. attached, I am going to shoot a few more from various angles but I cant remember where the H*** I stored my Macro lens. This molehill is starting to bug me!!