1959 Penny posable wrong metal?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Dave Boecking, Oct 21, 2016.

1. Dave Boecking

Dave Boecking New Member

This 1959 penny dose not lot right.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

Look like copper to me , as there has been no reports of someone finding one made from some other metal in the last 57 years. If it is you will probily find it to be counterfiet.

4. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

just stained.

5. GoldenSilver

GoldenSilver New Member

It's just regular copper with some off coloring, nothing worth extra cash, sorry for the disappointment.

6. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Well there have been silver ones struck on dime planchets.

Paul M. and paddyman98 like this.
  7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Sure there has! Plenty of them. There are different types. Off Metal, Transitional Errors, Wrong stock, and Planchets intended for other countries.
    Here is an example.
    This one is on Ebay at the moment...http://www.ebay.com/itm/NGC-1c-1971...462283?hash=item43f44c7d0b:g:yfAAAOSwPhdVNS~p
    1971.JPG

Paul M. likes this.
  8. paddyman98

Last edited: Oct 22, 2016
  9. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

10. paddyman98

You are welcome!
    1959.JPG

alurid likes this.
  11. paddyman98

12. paddyman98

13. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

14. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

Hi Dave, I appologize for my misleading / incorrect post. As you can see there are such coins out there. So please dont let anything I posted deter you from your search.

15. paddyman98

I don't ever want to prove anybody wrong. I like to share my knowledge with everyone. 30+ years of collecting error coins and reading tons of coin magazines, numismatic newspaper articles, books and web searches have helped me to find mass amounts of info.