1959 D Penny.. Doubling or Wear?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by agrace97, Oct 15, 2019.

1. agrace97

agrace97 Member

Hi! I found this 1959 D Lincoln Penny and the lettering seemed interesting. The “G” in “God” seems to be very thick especially on the ends. The “W” and “E” also seem to have very thick ends. The “berty” in “Liberty” seems a lot larger/thicker than the “Li.” The end of the “E” “T” and “Y” in “Liberty” seems to might have doubling. One side of the “D” mintmark seems to have doubling as well. I’m a newbie to coin research and was wondering if anyone had any opinions/knowledge on this coin! Am I just looking to hard? 11C9CABB-E8BA-4140-8AC6-86246FD5B300.jpeg 7164801E-2761-4D30-9021-FA25C8773C57.png BBCBB917-70FC-4280-8A33-9D93265560CE.png 0778CE92-EC10-42D7-8DD7-E8675806C11A.png ED1D4BC0-7AF9-45C4-B13B-F90457EAEA01.png

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. PlanoSteve

PlanoSteve Well-Known Member

Yes, & some of these pics look like the same ones you posted for the 1967 cent.

The coins you are posting, for the most part suffer from 2 problem areas:

(1) They are well circulated, hence, they are damaged by circulation.
    (2) These coins were produced in the hundreds of millions (in the case of the 1959 D, 1st yr of the LMC, they made 1,279,760,000; as in 1 Billion), resulting in many overused dies, thereby resulting in "machine doubling" & "die deterioration doubling".

So you're posting many coins & we certainly encourage that, & you've received some excellent advice & resources on other threads. As you learn about the minting process & coins in general, less of your time will be consumed by these common specimens & you will have much more enjoyment in your collecting endeavors.

If you don't already have a Red Book, I would strongly suggest you acquire one (doesn't have to be new, 2 or 3 yrs old is OK); it's the #1 resource for US coin collectors.

Have fun with this! ;)

352sdeer likes this.
  4. agrace97

agrace97 Member