1958 Franklin Half Dollar PCGS MS67+ FB CAC sells for $110k at auction

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Omegaraptor, Sep 27, 2018.

1. Omegaraptor

Omegaraptor Gobrecht/Longacre Enthusiast

Last edited: Sep 27, 2018
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Gregg

Gregg Monster Toning

Required Disclaimer: I'm new to grading, and only work with Peace Dollars.
    That aside, the obverse would do well to get a 65 in my honest opinion.

Am I way off base on that?
    I don't know much about Franklins other than they're ugly.

john65999 likes this.
  4. jtlee321

jtlee321 Well-Known Member

That is just INSANE!! I can only imagine the coins I could add to my collection with $100,000.00. I feel like I do well with my $100 - $200 budget, if I were to really open up and throw around just $1000.00 man..... The coin above would never be a consideration to me above $500.00. To me it's over graded and was pushed up to the 67+ level by it's eye appeal rather than it's technical merits. If you do a little looking on CoinFacts, you will see that it had been previously graded at a lower point. The first grade I could swallow, this one, not so much.

5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Franklin's are a great looking coin. I would have graded this a 65, maybe a 66. I'm not sure I would have given this a FBL due to a small dent crossing 2 of the lines. I think it was graded as it was based on the toning. Some of the small dings in the coin are hidden by the toning, especially on the obverse.

6. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

No sir.... No way in creation I would remotely consider a chunk of change like that for any Franklin half and I love the series. That particular Franklin must be doing laundry and washing windows or something to command such a ridiculous amount.

7. CoinBlazer

CoinBlazer Numismatic Enthusiast

The graders over compensated for the toning

john65999 and Hookman like this.
  8. Evan8