1958 Double Die Obverse Penny - D mint mark

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by mister martin, Feb 23, 2009.

1. mister martin

mister martin Junior Member

I am by no means an expert, but I was looking through some pennies today. And came across a 1958 Double Die Obverse with a Denver mint mark. I didn't see it in the book I have. But I see the 1958 Double Die Obverse as being very rare. So I figured this might be a good place to start. I don't have a picture of it just yet, but I plan to post one.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. EagleEye

EagleEye Member

If there is doubling on the date and mintmark it is certainly strike-doubling which happens when the coin is struck.

The 1958 DD listed in the Red Book is known by only 2 examples. They would likely sell for over $100,000 is offered today. It is almost as wide a separation as found on the 1955 DD.

4. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

Here is a starting place on any Lincoln variety
    http://www.coppercoins.com/advsearch.php

fill in the year, the mint, and all that you are looking for such as Doubled die and you should find 4 DD obverses for 1958-D.

Welcome to the Forum!

Jim

Amos 811 likes this.
  5. andy21us

andy21us Coin Hoarder

Welcome to the Forum Martin. Until you can post a pic can you tell us a little more about the doubling? Is the doubling on the date, mint mark, or lettering? If the doubling is in the lettering or date which letter(s) or number(s) is it in. If it is in the mint mark, does it look something like this.

Attached Files:

6. rockdude

rockdude Coin Collector

welcome to the forum mister martin:hail:

7. huntsman53

huntsman53 Supporter**

Jim,

Did you check out the 1958-P DDO Cent that Copper Coins has listed as a 1958P-1DO-001? I can tell you that it is in error! It is apparently a Variety not listed with Coneca but it is definitely not the Big One "1-O-I-CW; FS-01-1958-101 (022.15)".

Frank

8. sk8er722

sk8er722 New Member