1957s $1 Silver Certificates

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by PamR, Feb 22, 2024.

1. PamR

PamR You Never Know! Supporter

Some creases etc. I wished I would have traded the ones of all denominations when I worked at the bank. Blue and Red Seals.

IMG_5774.jpeg IMG_5775.jpeg IMG_5776.jpeg IMG_5778.jpeg IMG_5779.jpeg IMG_5780.jpeg IMG_5781.jpeg IMG_5782.jpeg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Neal

Neal Well-Known Member

There's a lot of stuff that I wish I'd bought and kept when I worked in a bank in the 1960s. But you have to remember that buying a blue seal $10 bill was a major investment, and a $1000 in silver coins was a fortune. Besides, in terms of return, almost all the bills I should have bought have actually lost value since then after taking into account inflation. A couple of national bank note that I did buy are exceptions, but to keep up a $10 silver certificate would have to be worth about $150 today just to break even.

GoldFinger1969, Notaphylic_C and PamR like this.
  4. mpcusa

mpcusa "Official C.T. TROLL SWEEPER"

57 blue seals are one of the most produced
    notes of all time there for the value of CH/CU is only about $15 if that and stars
    not much more.

PamR and SensibleSal66 like this.
  5. Notaphylic_C

Notaphylic_C Well-Known Member

US_$1_P419.jpeg

+1
    I bought the above CU note about 8 or 9 years ago for about $15 (I believe). Posted it (& a star SC) on some forum back then & was pretty surprised to learn how many were issued right into the 60's I believe (like billions were issued!)

PamR likes this.
  6. Barney McRae

Barney McRae Supporter! Supporter

Thanks for posting this. I'd forgotten about the silver certificates I have. None of them are in pristine condition and out of the 50 I have, only a handful have the star designation.

PamR likes this.
  7. PamR

Very welcome!

Barney McRae likes this.
  8. Heavymetal

Heavymetal Well-Known Member