1956-D Wheat penny ERROR?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by hooglandm, Feb 17, 2012.

1. hooglandm

hooglandm New Member

I am new to coin collecting and roll searching. I found this 1956-D wheat penny and I thought at first it was just a BIE error on the liberty, but after closer inspection I think it might be something else. My only reference is Strike it Rich With Pocket Change but that doesn't go into older coins. Any help with identifying this as an error or something else would be greatly appreciated.
    1956-D.jpg 1956-D Liberty close up.jpg 1956-D close up under trust.jpg

old49er likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Lincoln Cents

Lincoln Cents Cents not pennies

It appears to be a lamination. This is caused when impurities get under the planchet an seperate a section of it.

4. ziggy9

ziggy9 *NEC SPERNO NEC TIMEO*

this type error is called a lamination peel. it is due to improper mixing of the alloy

Richard

5. Lincoln Cents

Could you post pictures of the reverse?

Windy derushia likes this.
  6. hooglandm

hooglandm New Member

Sure here is the reverse. Is this kind of error valuable at all? 1956-D reverse.jpg

7. VNeal

VNeal Member

Do you want to sell it

8. Lincoln Cents

I would estimate yours to be 3-5 dollars.

9. dydrnrnfg

dydrnrnfg New Member

Does this have a d shadow or any value at all?

10. shawn45

shawn45 New Member

Hey if I took some pics of some penny's could someone tell me if I might have anything. Thanks

11. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

I'm sure many would be happy to help. However, you would be better served by starting your own new thread instead of simply bumping an old one. Welcome to the forum.

12. shawn45

shawn45 New Member

Thanks not sure what to do so. I'm just trying to get an idea of what I'm looking for when it comes to some penny's

13. shawn45

shawn45 New Member

14. BooksB4Coins