1955 Mint Set Franklins

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Skyman, May 31, 2016.

1. Skyman

Skyman Well-Known Member

Here are the Franklins from the 1955 Mint Set I bought last summer. The first one will go in my B Franklin toner Dansco, and the second one will go in my A Franklin toner Dansco. The images are by Bob Campbell, and I think he did an excellent job.

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Both are nice toners but the first is my favorite of the two.

Seattlite86 likes this.
  4. The second one is my favorite. Beautiful coins. Nice pickup

5. David Leu

David Leu Member

6. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

I agree, I think I like the second one better.

7. Anthony Giarratano

Anthony Giarratano New Member

Me thinks dey is frickin gorgeous!

8. Anthony Giarratano

Being a newbie I am quite impressed! Those coins are gorgeous.

9. Skyman

Skyman Well-Known Member

Thank you Anthony!

BTW, being a Newbie, I'm going to give you a little information about Franklins and Mint Sets. Franklins were made from 1948 - 1963. During that period, except for 1950, they were put into Mint Sets. A Mint Set contains two examples (showing one obverse and one reverse) of every coin made that year at that given Mint. During the 1948 - 1958 period (actually starting in 1947 when the half dollars were Walking Libertys), the Mint Sets were made out of paper and cardboard. Each Mint that produced coins during that year would put the coins into a cardboard "card" that had paper covering. For 1955 there were three cards, one each for the P, D and S Mints, with a grand total of 22 coins included. From 1959 - 1963 the Mint Sets were made out of plastic, which did not, for the most part, tone the coins.