1955 Double Die Lincoln. Cleaned?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by mlwells04, Feb 11, 2011.

1. mlwells04

mlwells04 New Member

Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum. I was just wondering if anyone could help me determine if my 1955 Double Die Lincoln cent has been cleaned. I know its really hard to tell just from pictured, so I'll try to get as close as possible. I'll upload the pictures and post a link in a little bit.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. calumsherwood

calumsherwood New Member

if you post pictures im sure some one will be able to tell.

4. mlwells04

mlwells04 New Member

5. Collect89

Collect89 Coin Collector

There should be two die polish lines that look like a long "X" just to the left of the upright in the T of CENT. This characteristic is found on genuine examples. It can normally be seen because it is located in the field very near the T which protects it from wear. I don't know how else to describe this genuine diagnostic without a photo.

The coin does look to be cleaned IMO. I think see actual scratches from the cleaning. The color gives the appearance of an old cleaning also.

6. Collect89

Collect89 Coin Collector

I made this photo to describe the general location of the two die polish lines which can be found on genuine 55 DDO coins. You need to have a good point source of light shining from the side in order to see the fine die polish lines.

Attached Files:

7. mlwells04

mlwells04 New Member

Thanks a lot for the response. I only have a 30x loupe, so even with ample lighting I wasn't able to see any die polish lines. It may be because they aren't there or I just cant see them. Either way I'm gunna take the coin to a local dealer and see what he thinks. Any other opinions are greatly appreciated!

8. BadThad

BadThad Calibrated for Lincolns

Harshly cleaned and retoned. Nonetheless, if it's genuine, it is still worth some good money. You should send it to ANACS.