1955 D Penny - errors or damage?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by XANIA, May 31, 2011.

1. XANIA

XANIA New Member

I am a novice to all of this, so please excuse my ignorance in certain respects... I was looking through some pennies and came across this one that has left me with more questions than answers - and hoping someone could provide some further insight as to what these irregularities may be (I hope that the pictures are somewhat viewable). On the front -- the "B" in LIBERTY seems to be "pinched" together to form an extremely narrow B (it seems that the line in B is placed directly on top of the two loops in B). Also on the front there are some gashes to the upper left of the head, that have left globs of metal directly under the "G" and "D" in GOD, and three globs extending (and very noticeable) over the side, above the word "IN." As for the back -- at first I thought that there were some huge gouges across the entire length -- but on closer inspection, I believe it to be the result of a broken die, as the "U" in UNITED and the letters in the word "AMERICA" are sliced in such a fashion that whatever fragment of the letter is missing in the top side of the "tear," is in its entirety, located below the gap on the bottom side of the "tear" (it may not be completely visible in the photo, but very obvious when magnified in person). The tear that extends from the left wheat ear to the center of the "C" in CENT has left considerable globs of metal along the tear above the "U" and in the center of the "C." The rim seems to be thicker on the left side of the coin than the right. And lastly, there seems to be stamped an impression, with the likeness of a partial "third" wheat ear, directly to the right (along the rim) of the wheat ear on the right side. I don't know what all of this necessarily means, if anything, (I've searched the web for similarities to no avail)-- but I, personally, found these irregularities very interesting, and hope that someone could