1954-S set value

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by ryang74, Dec 23, 2019.

Tags:
  1. ryang74

ryang74 Active Member

I picked up this set last week from a local dealer. Things I noticed: nice Capitol plastic toning, and graded in sequential order- very nice add. What does the community think?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Great looking set.

Troodon and ryang74 like this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

?o_O

That's a slab used by the Third Party Grading company PCGS.. But i know what you meant.

Cool pick up.

ryang74 likes this.
  5. Burton Strauss III

Burton Strauss III Brother can you spare a trime? Supporter

Given that Capital Plastics uses inert acrylic (Plexiglass is a brand name from one company), their holders don't typically cause toning. More likely it was properly stored in the mint cello.

You can't rule out this set was assembled from several original cellos.

ryang74 and ldhair like this.
  6. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

The toning reminds me of coins that came from later mint sets with the cardboard holders. Fun coins.

ryang74 likes this.
  7. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Nice pickup. Welcome to CT.

ryang74 likes this.
  8. Heavymetal

Heavymetal Well-Known Member

Nobody seems to have a guesstimate on value. I’ll hazard one. If you’re into them for under $50 you’re good.
    Too much ‘toning’ for me

ryang74 likes this.
  9. Spark1951

Spark1951 Accomplishment, not Activity

The set lists at a rough total $191. These are NGC values. This is presuming the nickel is not a 5 or 6 full step, which is not indicated on the label, and the reverse pic in the first group shot is too small to tell otherwise.

The 5 full step lists at $6,250.00.

There is no price listed for the 6FS.

Depending on what he paid, nice set...Spark

ryang74 likes this.