1951 D Large Cent Error?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Kevin Berg, Jun 18, 2020.

1. Kevin Berg

Kevin Berg New Member

40F8EE02-3CB3-4E53-88F8-ECB68BD07A51.jpeg F9309489-E76A-4941-B502-B681562BC4C4.jpeg I found a 1951 D small cent with a blank planchet only on the obverse. The die strike on the face appears normal with typical coin thickness. Coin is in circulated condition but doesn’t have much wear or scratches.
    How do I know if this is an error strike and does it have much value?

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 18, 2020
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Not a large cent , small cents were minted from 1856 to date...
    " how do i know if this is an error strike,and does it have value?"
    You can start with buying a red book.... buy the book before the coin...

capthank likes this.
  5. nuMRmatist

nuMRmatist Well-Known Member

Can you see machining marks on reverse ?

Coin's weight ?

Spark1951 and adelaide888 like this.
  6. expat

expat Remember you are unique, just like everyone else Supporter

Benefit of the doubt, he actually put small cent in his tags and text, just a typo in the title

Kevin Berg likes this.
  7. paddyman98

I was the first person to see this thread very early this morning.. his first post stated Large (I read it twice to make sure that's what he meant) so that means he edited it. But thanks for trying to point that out for me.

Sidney Osborne and Kevin Berg like this.
  8. expat

expat Remember you are unique, just like everyone else Supporter

Este bien no pasa nada. I only saw the difference in his title and his text after i saw that the coin was wrong.

paddyman98 likes this.
  9. Fred Weinberg

Fred Weinberg Well-Known Member

Machined, as mentioned

10. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

11. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor