1951 D FBL franklin icg slab. Are they right?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by itm389, Aug 19, 2019.

1. itm389

itm389 Member

Got a nice franklin for cheap off of ebay awhile back and kinda doubting its a ms 65 but the fbl designation looks right, what do you guys think? Leaning more towards a 64 or lower but idk. The full bells looks right though to me.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Do you really want it to be a lower grade?
    You're doubting it? Why? o_O

That's like getting a raise at work then you question it. Just take it!... Be happy with the MS65!

Oh wait.. That's an ICG graded slab.. Now I know why you doubt it :hilarious:

4. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

I agree that the coin looks more like a 64.

As for the bell lines, it depends on which standard you use. If you use PCGS "standards" then yes it is FBL, but if you use NGC standards then no, the top line has weakness to the left of the crack and I would not call it FBL.

cpm9ball likes this.
  5. itm389

itm389 Member

Yea its an older icg slab. I think they were a little better awhile back. Their newer grades are almost always a point or 2 higher then they should be. Not really good with frankies just wanted another opinion. Thanks for any help!

6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I was about to say the same thing about the FBL.

Thanks, Jason!

Chris

7. itm389

itm389 Member

Doing some research it looks like there isnt really any difference in sold prices for the same grades with pcgs and ngc for FBL's unless Im mistaken. Anyone else have an opinion on this? Why would you send your franklins to ngc if theyre gonna be tough on the fbl details?

8. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?