1947 D rpm?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by MrisaW, Nov 4, 2019.

1. MrisaW

MrisaW Member

I found this 1947 D that looks like WRPM-2, 8 or 10. Thoughts?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. MrisaW

MrisaW Member

4. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

Looks like a well placed hit

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

It looks like die deterioration to me.

Chris

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Circulation wear and tear issue.

7. MrisaW

MrisaW Member

Thanks for your thoughts. I guess I saw something different with it being tilted and the outline of the D underneath it. Thanks anyways.

8. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

The first problem is you do yourself disservice by not showing the entire coin Front/Obverse and Back/Reverse.

Why? because there are other indicators for the 1947 D to help eliminate or focus on particular RPMs. For instance for 001 Stage C there is a die crack on the forehead .. of which, we don't see the forehead. Some are also DDRs.

Second, always, always rotate the coin properly. Otherwise you make people squint. I'd say NO to all of them based on your tilted image. When I rotate it correctly it makes me think more as we're used to looking at coins right side up not tilted.

But here's your D
    of course it is flattened from circulation wear and tear and hits. Maybe die deterioration if it has similar issues in comparison to the date.
    upload_2019-11-4_9-23-14.png
    But I do see an internal D window and probably what you see on the right side and bottom left of the D, like a slight arc.
    Of course, being so early I may be thinking I think I possible see that too because it's out of focus.

from varietyvista
    for 002 - just comparitively, it doesn't fit.
    upload_2019-11-4_9-20-4.png

for 008 - still doesn't look right for the inner window nor the lower left of the D.
    upload_2019-11-4_9-25-24.png

for 010 - doesn't look like it either.