1944 wheat penny error in liberty

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Tschott, Mar 6, 2019.

1. Tschott

Tschott New Member

I’m sorry for the bad picture but let me know if you can’t tell and I’ll try to upload a better one. I didn’t want to take it out of the protective case. The L and I are messed up and almost look like IIB. What are anyone’s thoughts on this?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I'm sorry! Your photo is too blurry when I enlarge it.

Also, the 2x2 with the mylar window is not all that protective. If you have another 2x2 with staple points that aren't flattened, you might scratch the coin. You're better off putting it in a Saflip.

Chris

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Take the Cent out of the 2x2 and take a better picture. More lighting also.
    It might be damage.

5. Tschott

Tschott New Member

I will when I get home. It’s definitely not damage. The coin is in really good shape but ya I’ll get a better one when I get home from work

6. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

remember that a camera sensor needs light.
    Your eye adjusts far better than any camera.
    If your camera doesn't have enough light then it keeps the shutter open longer, which if you are holding the camera or the coin then there will be movement (even if you think you can hold it still, it needs to be totally 1,000% still).
    Then you need to get it to focus on the coin. Put the camera on a box. The coin on a flat surface (with no texture, such as a piece of paper).

So go to a room with light or add light. darkness is good for vampires, not for coins. :)

upload_2019-3-6_12-57-28.png

7. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

Sorry, but it's not an error. It looks like the L in LIBERTY was hit. Copper is a soft metal and it's not unusual to see damage like this, especially on an older coin.

8. Tschott

Tschott New Member