1944 S penny weighs 3.2 grams

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Sheila Ruley, Dec 29, 2015.

1. Sheila Ruley

Sheila Ruley The short blonde girl

20151229_141520.jpg 20151229_141750.jpg Should weigh 3.11 grams. Why is it so far off?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

That's not too far off. It's within mint specs +/- I believe.

4. ACoinJob

ACoinJob There are still some out there to be had.

I could only imagine (Nice to meet you by the way) the planchets had to be recalibrated for height after the wartime cents were introduced. Temperature, and material density and thickness all physics problems, may of played a factor in reintroducing these copper planchets with a certain amount of tolerance, back into production. I have no internal knowledge of what the mints were doing, when reintroducing a softer material than steel & zinc, back in their machines. I do however, have a 4.0 G.P.A. in Manufacturing Technologies, and in Statistical Process Control. Something the Mints would of implemented in control of production. Another observation could be your scales need recalibrated, if not perfectly alligned. My mini scales did manipulate from 2.67 grams of silver to 2.7 within tolerance.

Last edited: Dec 29, 2015
    Sheila Ruley likes this.
  5. Sheila Ruley

Ok, I was just wondering.thanks.

ACoinJob likes this.
  6. ACoinJob

You're welcome, and by the way my scales went defunct after that little episode. The problem I was having with my carat scales was it was digital, and made over seas, but the calibration per gram was +/- 0.03 grams.
    Nothing too far out of the ordinary. I guesstimate plus or minus 3 to 5 percent max on weight watchers tolerances. :)

7. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor