1943 S penny NO S ? details of MM north between 94

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by coinhawk, Mar 28, 2015.

1. coinhawk

coinhawk Junior Member

looking under 10x loop you can clearly see the S tilted northeast and to the north in between the 9 4 with a small trace of S lower portion just south of the tilted S
    i drew a S to show the MM position under date...
    I know im CRAZZY!! to think this is a NO S but L@@K? and im not wearing glasses on this one

WP_20150326_050.jpg WP_20150326_052.jpg WP_20150326_056.jpg WP_20150326_052.jpg WP_20150326_057.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

You should try wearing your glasses! No seriously. I see what you are trying to show us but that is a Philadelphia Mint Steel Cent. They did not use the Mintmark. Simulcra- some dirt or flaw just like that weird spot above the 1943, that looks like an imaginary small tilted s

Last edited: Mar 28, 2015
    tommyc03 likes this.
  4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Yep! There is no telling what you can see if you look long and hard enough. I swear that I saw a bear in the woods of a MN SQ, but nobody believed me.

Chris

tommyc03 likes this.
  5. KurtS

KurtS Die variety collector

Our brains look for patterns in randomness--I think that's what we're seeing (or not seeing) here. Nothing personal--it's really common in error/variety collecting to see something if we look hard enough. I know because I've done it many times myself. :)

A mark can look like an S, but if it's not the correct shape or size, then it can't be mintmark.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 28, 2015
    Paul M., paddyman98 and tommyc03 like this.
  6. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member