1943 penny black

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Veronica Leonardo, Apr 21, 2019.

1. Veronica Leonardo

Veronica Leonardo New Member

Why is it black. .is it possible to be silver?

Attached Files:

alurid likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. dadams

dadams Well-Known Member

Corroded steel.

4. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

Steel cents, plated with zinc were made in 1943 due to the need for the government to have copper for the war efforts. They will turn color and /or rust after years in circulation.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Do you have a magnet? any magnet.. even a refrigerator magnet.
    If the Cent sticks to it then it is steel.. not silver.

6. Evan Saltis

Evan Saltis OWNER - EBS Numis LLC Supporter

Before you post on here, I recommend googling. Just something like "1943 silver penny" would lead you to more information. Some members here seem to get kinda mad about posts like these, and if you make too many, I doubt you'd continue to get responses.

Buy this book- just find the coin you're looking at in here and you will have no problem learning on your own.
    On Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Guide-Book-U...244&s=gateway&sprefix=us+coin+,aps,149&sr=8-1

On eBay: https://www.ebay.com/itm/2020-Red-B...4866c0a5b246028783cf78d80c745f&frcectupt=true

Pellinore likes this.
  7. Evan Saltis

Also, this post is in the "Ancient Coins" forum. For future reference, something like this should be posted in the US Coins part of the website.

8. paddyman98

Evan.. I totally disagree with you. This thread is excellent. That is why we are here.. to answer any question. Not to get mad.

You only have been a member a very short time. 3 days!
    You should get to know us a bit better before making bad assumptions about us.

Mernskeeter likes this.
  9. paddyman98

Don't worry about that. We can actually ask a Moderator to move it all to the correct forum.