1943 copper fake

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Cazador, Jun 22, 2021.

1. Cazador

Cazador Supporter! Supporter

I found this coin roll hunting it weighs 2.67 g and it is magnetic. I guess my question is is this coin still worth keeping as a fake upload_2021-6-22_20-1-48.jpeg upload_2021-6-22_20-1-49.jpeg

sel w, Stevearino, Bayern and 3 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

You can keep whatever you want.
    Interesting piece.

sel w, TonkawaBill and Kevin Mader like this.
  4. Heavymetal

Heavymetal Well-Known Member

Poor plating job.
    Got a magnet?
    Oh, I see you do. Fake

TonkawaBill likes this.
  5. yakpoo

yakpoo Member

You need a gold plated 1883 "No Cents" Liberty Nickel to go with it. :)

sel w, John Burgess, CygnusCC and 3 others like this.
  6. ZoidMeister

ZoidMeister Hamlet Squire of Tomfoolery . . . . .

7. Cazador

95 cents i’ll sell you mine for 75 cents and still make a good profit Thanks everyone

8. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

It was washed with a bronze wash or copper plate.
    Worth keeping as a conversation piece. I would have it in a 2x2 with
    a label that clearly states it is a steel cent.
    The weight is right for steel, and the magnet is right for steel.
    Remember, there are a million times more fakes than real copper 1943s.
    Why not keep it? What else can you do with it?

sel w, Mountain Man and ZoidMeister like this.
  9. VistaCruiser69

VistaCruiser69 Well-Known Member