1942 S DDO dime mint mark removed

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by #rocco, Oct 20, 2017.

1. #rocco

#rocco Member

A friend claims to have a 1942 s ddo dime where the mintmark was removed but its shaddow is visable. Has anyone heard of a dime like this? I did some research and didn't find anything online so I figured I'd ask the experts for him. And Go.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I imagine If the mint mark was removed somehow and a slight image remains, then the scratches or whatever method would of been worn down over years and years of wear on the area

You do know where the mint mark is located.. Do you?

#rocco likes this.
  4. #rocco

#rocco Member

Its right where it should be on the left below the olive branch. The coin has very little wear to it at all.

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. #rocco

#rocco Member

He said there is only couple very faint scratches in the area of the missing mint mark.

6. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

If the mint mark was removed the coin is damaged.

7. #rocco

#rocco Member

He put the dime in his 1942 set thinking it was a ddo from philly but once he took a better look at it he noticed the s had been removed. I have seen it with my own 2 eyes and i could see what looked like an inverted s image/shadow. I told him that it could be worth $5 or it could be worth much more and by that night and day to $5. I also told him thats a big year for the crooks.

8. #rocco

#rocco Member

It would have been the work of the worlds best forger to do this. Its very very hard to see this with a loop.

9. #rocco

#rocco Member

How would luster sill be visable where the curves are in the S Without there being gouges all around the area. Its very smooth with only a very minor scratches.

10. #rocco

#rocco Member

11. #rocco

#rocco Member