1942-P DDO

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by rmpsrpms, Nov 8, 2019.

1. rmpsrpms

rmpsrpms Lincoln Maniac

Thought I'd buck the trend here and post a new doubled die I discovered recently. This one shows pretty nicely on the Y of LIBERTY, and indeed it looks like it might actually be a tripled die with a second vertical doubling showing on the Y. I still need to send this one in for attribution and listing. Unfortunately this is the only one I found in the BU roll, so I'm a bit protective of it.

I shot this coin in high resolution. You can see the high res image at:

https://easyzoom.com/image/157192/album/0/4?mode=manage

Below are the downsized high res image, and a crop from the area of the DDO.

42P DDO_0_1.JPG 42P DDO_0_2.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

What? Where? o_O

Chuck_A and Evan Saltis like this.
  4. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

There 10 known ddo's 42 P this isn't one of them.

Cheech9712, Chuck_A and Evan Saltis like this.
  5. rmpsrpms

rmpsrpms Lincoln Maniac

Take a look at the crop photo. The doubling shows mostly on the Y to the SW, and a little on the T to the S

Correct, which is why this is a new DDO.

6. thomas mozzillo

thomas mozzillo Well-Known Member

GH#75, Andrew Snovell and Chuck_A like this.
  7. rmpsrpms

rmpsrpms Lincoln Maniac

Thanks, I'm well aware of the process, but I believe this DDO is strong enough (hopefully) to submit to Wiles at CONECA. It is similar to a few other listed DDOs but perhaps a bit stronger.

8. thomas mozzillo

thomas mozzillo Well-Known Member

However you have it authenticated, please post the results. Thank you.

GH#75, Andrew Snovell and Chuck_A like this.
  9. rmpsrpms

rmpsrpms Lincoln Maniac

It does take a while to send in and get an attribution or new listing, but I will try to remember I created this thread...

Stevearino likes this.
  10. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter