1941 Walker with Ford counterstamp

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Evan8, Aug 19, 2016.

1. Evan8

Evan8 A Little Off Center

So I'm not one for counterstamp coins but as a mechanic I had to have this one.

Let's just take a moment and appreciate the packaging of this coin
    0819161824.jpg
    Usually they are just thrown in an envelope but this was very neatly packed in a square capsule and stuck in a thick foam posterboard. A bit of first for me.

Apparently this coin was stamped from a broken Ford stamp in 1963. Note the upper flourish of the F is missing. I found one site with info from Brunk talking about this counterstamp here:

http://tokencatalog.com/token_recor...d=16299&attribution_id=28572&td_create_uid=39

I know some of you like counterstamps and I thought this was fairly unusual. So here you are

2016-08-19-18-39-24.jpg

If you have one of these I'd love to see it

dwhiz, *coins, NSP and 6 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I'm not big on counterstamps, but this one has a neat provenance. Thanks for posting it.

Chris

-jeffB likes this.
  4. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

5. NorthKorea

NorthKorea Dealer Member is a made up title...

Are they considered counterstamps? I would think this is more like a chop mark, especially since the mark doesn't appear to even have been done on behalf of Ford...

6. BRandM

BRandM Counterstamp Collector

You see a lot of these on eBay, Evan. For some reason I've never picked up one for my collection, though I've had ample opportunity to do so. Maybe because I'm not a car nut.:D

Bruce

Evan8 likes this.
  7. BRandM

Yes, they are counterstamps, North Korea. While chopmarks are technically counterstamps...a message, name, or something else applied with a medal die...chopmarks are treated differently by collectors. I have a large collection of counterstamps, but have no interest in chopmarks.

Bruce

8. scottishmoney