1941 S nickel

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Jodemi, Jun 24, 2019.

1. Jodemi

Jodemi Member

heres a pic of this 1941 S nickel. Can’t make out if there’s a D under the S mint mark. Maybe it’s dirt.... have a look. Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. PlanoSteve

PlanoSteve Well-Known Member

Jodemi, I applaud your continued interest in coin hunting, but I am starting to notice a trend in your posts. Why would you think this is an S/D mintmark? Are you aware of, or have seen one? Or is this just wishful thinking?

The US San Francisco Mint produced over 43.4 million 1941 nickels, & from what I find (I'm not a nickel expert) no S over D nickels have been found. 1954 has an S/D, but so far that's it. The odds of you finding a 1941 discovery coin are so remote...

It would be very beneficial for you to acquire (if you haven't already) a US Coin Digest (aka, "Red Book"). They produce one each year, but you don't need a new one - any from the last 5 yrs or so should suffice. There is a wealth of information: it will show you mintages, grading, known varieties, (don't rely on the prices, but it will show general differences between grades), etc.

Also, you should have a magnifying glass, not higher than 10x.

The chances of you actually finding an error, variety, rare specimen in circulation is extremely remote (but not impossible). You being in Canada, I would think you have a more difficult time finding US specimens.

Keep up the search - there are still great finds out there, but certainly not as frequent as some think. :(

Good luck! :happy::happy::happy:

4. Burton Strauss III

Burton Strauss III Brother can you spare a trime? Supporter

5. Jodemi

Jodemi Member

Thanks for your suggestions. I watch videos on all types of coins. I do have a 2010 book on coins. You could be right...it may be wishful thinking or too long looking threw the microscope..lol. Thanks.

PlanoSteve likes this.
  6. Burton Strauss III