1941 Quarter with JF initials missing

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by MArkus B, Sep 27, 2020.

1. MArkus B

MArkus B Member

Anybody know if a quarter without the initials at the base of the neck would be considered rare or valuable. Like an error. ??
    Thanks

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

THISTHREADISUSELESSWITHOUTPICHERS.jpg

4. Heavymetal

Heavymetal Well-Known Member

Even without pictures, I’m going with polished die. No premium value

5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

You want to know about the missing initials? I want to know about the missing coin! Photos please.

Mike Davis likes this.
  6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

7. expat

expat Remember you are unique, just like everyone else Supporter

Wait, wait, I think photos are coming
    Annotation 2020-08-02 234918.jpg

8. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Well, since so much time has elapsed since he saw our requests, I'm going to knock the value down by half...........12-1/2c!

9. MArkus B

MArkus B Member

Sorry. Was working. Here are the pics. thx guys. Let me know what you think.

Attached Files:

10. expat

Parts still exist though very faint, look to be polished out

11. MArkus B

MArkus B Member

Polished out? What polished it out? What do you mean?This coin came out of a OBWRoll

12. expat

Die Polishing is the process of cleaning the dies used to strike a coin. Over the course of the life of a working die, dirt and grime may accumulate on the die itself. In addition, the die may acquire other imperfections that a mint worker might try to polish away in an attempt to strike "cleaner" coins.

Danomite likes this.
  13. Mike Davis

Mike Davis Well-Known Member

The die was polished out prior to minting your coin.

14. Collecting Nut