1940 Canada Cent question

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Bill Johnson, Aug 1, 2018.

1. Bill Johnson

Bill Johnson New Member

I recently acquired this Canadian penny but can not find any information about it. Can anyone tell me something about it? Thanks. I am new at this bear with me.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Bill Johnson

Bill Johnson New Member

Sorry about the size of the pictures. The coin is silver.

4. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Very unlikely that it would be silver. There is a high school experiment where you coat a copper cent with zinc...that could be it. How much does it weigh?

5. Bill Johnson

Bill Johnson New Member

Silver in color I meant. No idea on weight.

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

MontCollector and Kentucky like this.
  7. Bill Johnson

Bill Johnson New Member

The damage on the obverse appears to be extra metal pressed into the coin. To me, the damage looks like it was with the coin at creation. But, I guess if it were plated, it would appear such.

8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I don't think so. It would be kind of silly to take a true mint error and damage it in a plating experiment. Just probably some old solder.

9. Bill in Burl

Bill in Burl Collector

Definitely post-mint damage. It's been plated and then looks to have been soldered onto a piece of jewelry or something. The globs on the Obverse could be solder or just the plating pooled before it hardened.

10. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

Too bad about the damage. And the plating also is a negative factor.
    If it were copper and in good condition, as much as 50 cents. But more likely
    10-20 cents. Here's a handy Canadian Coin price guide:
    http://www.coinsandcanada.com/coins-prices.php

11. Dillan

Dillan The sky is the limit !