1937 Texas Centennial Half Dollar - Authentic?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by BaconSlayer, Jul 20, 2017.

1. BaconSlayer

BaconSlayer Active Member

Hello, I need a little advice on a coin I picked up at a local coin club. It is a 1937 Texas Centennial Commemorative Half Dollar that has some reverse damage, die cracks or is it a counterfeit? The coin is worn with mushy features and 2 large die cracks from the angels' right wing down thru 'REMEMBER'. Here are some pics. Thoughts???
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Keepright likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

Looks like it was someones 'pocket piece'. I vote genuine.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I believe that is a Lamination.. Not a Die Crack

5. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

What's the deal with the lines in INDEPENDE'N'CE?

I don't like the look of it, not one bit. Those extra lines in INDEPENDENCE CENTENNIAL just look way too much like extra features I saw in a counterfeit Walker some years ago.

6. rzage

rzage What Goes Around Comes Around .

Looks like pics went on vacation !

7. Keepright

Keepright Member

I'm sorry only penny's.but there's plenty of people here that would help you.did put a magnet to to yet.it should be sliver.

8. BaconSlayer

Yep, tried a N52 Neodymuim magnet, does not stick.

9. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

Technically a delamination

paddyman98 likes this.
  10. BaconSlayer

Ok, so I have seen the same "error" on another Texas Centennial Half. Isn't a delamination unique to a single coin due to a flaw in the individual planchet. So if there are 2 or more coins with similar features it must be a die based error? This image I borrowed from a site that was selling a similar 1937 coin: Scan0709.jpg

C-B-D and paddyman98 like this.
  11. C-B-D

C-B-D Well-Known Member

Coun-ter-feit.