1935 S dime

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Lincoln Cents, Jul 6, 2012.

1. Lincoln Cents

Lincoln Cents Cents not pennies

Since I have very little experience on grading Mercury dimes, what do you all think this one grades? I think the lines are die polish.
    1935 s obv 1.JPG 1935 S Obv 2.JPG
    1935 S Rev 1.JPG 1935 S Rev 2.JPG
    Thanks

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

If you are talking about the parallel lines in the left field of the reverse, yes, those are die polish lines. The lines are in the field and do not cross the raised devices. If the lines were also on the raised devices they would be hairlines or scratches on the coin.

4. jello

jello Not Expert★NormL®

Die polish line are odd.
    But as for grade MS-64 No full bands,but still a a very nice Mercury Dime
    :thumb:

5. acloco

acloco New Member

Nice luster. Not a full strike - lack of full bands or better. Slightly weak obverse strike. MS63. Might get a 64 because of the luster.

6. mrbrklyn

mrbrklyn New Member

Actually, Mercs are famous for their polish lines. Not sure why.

7. Lincoln Cents

Thanks again everyone. I got it for $5 in a junk bin full of AU mercs and it stood out like a spot light.

8. cremebrule

cremebrule Active Member

+1. Just look at PCGS's MS65 Merc Dime Photograde Pic.

Nice snag! Congrats :)

9. BUncirculated

BUncirculated Well-Known Member

10. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

I don't think they are die polish lines, and I suspect that is why you found it in a junk bin. If you look at the different pics when they are expanded to full size you can see different things. In pic 1 some of those lines extend onto the neck. And the lines criss-cross and go in different directions above and below the motto. And look at what's going on behind the head. In pic 2 some of the lines extend onto the helmet above the forehead.