1935 $1 Silver Certificate Inverted Back Error

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by scotts1, Apr 6, 2019.

1. scotts1

scotts1 Well-Known Member

I was so excited to find one of these at one of my local coin shows, but when I got home and went to put it in a better holder, I realized that it appeared to be splitting along the edge. Is it even physically possible to fake something like this or am I just being paranoid? Nothing else about it seems amiss, so I'm inclined to think (and certainly hope) it's just wear and tear but I know there are a lot of fakes/alterations out there.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SteveInTampa

SteveInTampa Always Learning

I believe I’ve seen this before.

Note is in terrible shape. I know inverted backs are a popular error, but I might have waited for a nicer example.

Last edited: Apr 6, 2019
    midas1 and Penna_Boy like this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Splitting currency? Something seems fishy about it. I never heard of 2-ply currency.

midas1, Brina, Stevearino and 2 others like this.
  5. Penna_Boy

Penna_Boy Just a nobody from the past

I'm no expert but that split would concern me. Hope it works out for you.

6. mpcusa

mpcusa "Official C.T. TROLL SWEEPER"

I wish i could say say that was a keeper :(

7. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

I've seen one other note like this years ago. Yours is in terrible shape. You should have waited for a better one.

If you can split the entire note then will will have a two fer. One half will have the front of the bill and the other half the back. LOL Please don't try this, the bill has suffered enough.

8. NOS

NOS Former Coin Hoarder