1929 wheat cent on a 2.7g zink coated planchet?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by maddurfee, Oct 18, 2017.

1. maddurfee

maddurfee Boy Wonder

I found this cent searching a bag of wheats I got from a dealer. Its smaller in diameter than a normal cent and its zink coated. It weighs 2.7g. Was there a planchet like that in 1929, foreign or U.S.? Anybody have any idea.. CM171018-00391113.jpg CM171018-00261001.jpg CM171018-00265502.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

I am thinking that your coin was modified after it left the mint. It seems as though someone was trying to make it look like a dime. Sure was some hard times back in the 30's.

Chewmassa likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Zinc coating? How did you get to that conclusion. Looks all copper to me with Environmental Damage.

Chewmassa likes this.
  5. Chewmassa

Chewmassa Now where could my pipe be?

Gunna have to agree with alurid, it was most likely shaved to fit in a dime roll.

6. Fred Weinberg

Fred Weinberg Well-Known Member

Yes, it was cut down, or shaved;
    likely to be used as a dime.

7. David Setree Rare Coins

David Setree Rare Coins Well-Known Member

Regular composition and mutilated outside the mint.

Chewmassa likes this.
  8. fish4uinmd

fish4uinmd Well-Known Member

As a dime slug for a vending machine??

9. Fred Weinberg

Fred Weinberg Well-Known Member

Yes - don't know for certain, but that's
    what most of the cut-down coins were
    used for like that --- there were other
    purposes too, but we can assume this
    particular coin was cut down to be used
    as a dime in a machine.

10. fish4uinmd

fish4uinmd Well-Known Member

Back in the 50's, some Coke machines would accept cut down electric box "knock outs" as nickels...or at least that's what I was told...;) ;)

Attached Files:

11. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor