1928 Silver Colored Wheat Penny?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by SS1982, Dec 11, 2018.

1. SS1982

SS1982 New Member

I found this coin in a storage container with some steel pennies. It obviously stood out because of its brighter sheen. From what I can tell, there was never a silver colored wheat penny produced on purpose in 1928. I am not sure if its composition. I thought silver, but I had a jeweler examine it and they did not believe it to be silver. It does have some scratches on it. Possibly from being stored with the harder steel pennies? Does anyone know what I have here? Is it an actual purpose production that I am just not aware of?
    94F02DA0-D508-40A0-865A-70B0C632AABF.jpeg AF03048B-11CE-49E4-B0CA-8496C7A1C9AE.jpeg 09B4550A-2C33-40DA-A5BC-45387955F101.jpeg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Your 1928 Cent has been Plated.
    It is a Copper Cent with some plating on it done after it left the US Mint.

The jeweler really could not tell that it was plated? Unbelievable.

Kentucky and bsting like this.
  4. SS1982

SS1982 New Member

I knew that there were some plated coins out there and that is one reason why I took it to a jeweler for examination. Is there a way I could determine if it was plated or not without damaging the coin?

5. bsting

bsting Never enough coins.lol

I was thinking the same.

6. paddyman98

It is already considered damaged.
    A normal Cent will weigh in at 3.11 grams. If you find a gram scale and weigh your Cent it will be slightly heavier. But no need to do this because it is definitely plated.

JCro57 and Kentucky like this.
  7. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

Since it's already damaged in a number of ways, you're not going to hurt anything by doing a little more, especially if it makes you feel better. If no "copper" shows anywhere on the coin (look closely), simply find an inconspicuous area and dig in.