1926 Wheat Die Cracks x's 2?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by CatW, Feb 21, 2017.

1. CatW

CatW Member

Found this in a parking lot. Never looked at it until this morning. I believe there is 2 die cracks and is that a cud on the 2 in the date or just damage? Thank You!

20170221_123450.jpg 20170221_123322.jpg 20170221_123256.jpg 20170221_122759.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

The 1926 is a lamination error, not a die crack. And it looks like a die chip at the base of the 2.

CatW and paddyman98 like this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Correct. As Tommy stated it's a Lamination error.
    A Die Crack is on the Die Itself. When a blank planchet is struck with the cracked die, the metal flows into the small opening and will look raised. A lamination is an error on the blank planchet. Looks like peeling metal.

But what you have is a minor error. Not a major error with no big premium.

CatW and tommyc03 like this.
  5. paddyman98

Also. A cud is formed near the edge of any coin. A Die Chip is on the field not near the edge. Could be a small Die Chip.

CatW and tommyc03 like this.
  6. paddyman98

CatW likes this.
  7. CatW

CatW Member

Thank you both so very much! I figured it was a crack because of the line from the top of his head to the top edge of the coin and that the age played a part in the chipping towards the bottom. I promise I do look things up and try to find the info. But like I have experienced with past posts, no matter what I try to find, it isn't until I post here and get a definite answer or term that I am able to find the true nature of the errors and the exact information I have been seeking. HUGE thanks to you all, and know the information is retained so that I am not posting the same issues over and over. I love CT and its members!!!

Last edited: Feb 21, 2017
    paddyman98 and tommyc03 like this.
  8. tommyc03