1925 Cent with strange defect

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Inspector43, May 24, 2019.

1. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

I have a 1925 P LWC with a location that looks like it was pinched with a pliers. But the rim is not as affected as it should be and some original lettering, IN, looks to be still in place. I can't declare it to be PMD and would like others to look at it with some objectivity. I have studied it for a long time and if it is PMD I am not offended. 1925 Lam 1.jpg 1925 Lam 2.jpg 1925 Lam 3.jpg 1925 Lam 4.jpg 1925 Lam 5.jpg 1925 Lam 6.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

DEFDAM - Definitely Damaged! :yack:

The word IN was sqooshed down.. Or is it squashed down?

Inspector43 likes this.
  4. Inspector43

In NY it would be squashed and here in TX we would say sqooshed. Would the rims at the ends of the sqoosh get much of their natural height back just from 50+ years of circulation?

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

"Smooshed" ? "Squished" ? "Squeezed" ?

Chris

Inspector43 likes this.
  6. Inspector43

Thanks Chris, but I am sticking with sqooshed.

7. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

squoosh
    verb
    \ ˈskwu̇sh , ˈskwüsh\
    squooshed; squooshing; squooshes
    Definition of squoosh

: squash

Chris

Inspector43 likes this.
  8. CoinCorgi

CoinCorgi Tell your dog I said hi!

9. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

the pressure was put across the coin.
    and it only affects the impacted area.
    As you may notice, which I think I see in your pictures, the area above the squished part is pushed out a tad .. ie, the coin is no longer as round as it once was.